New winners for the SAYFC national Tug of War competition

The grand final of the Scottish Association of Young Farmers (SAYFC) Tug of War competition held on Saturday at the Royal Highland Show highlighted the passion, power and strength of the young farmers’ teams taking part. Sponsored by Davidson & Robertson, the men’s event was won by Lesmahagow-Young-Farmers and the ladies’ competition was won by Callander YFC.

It was a welcome return for the Lesmahagow YFC men’s team, they had not been in the final since 2008. Coach Alan Haddow was a member of the winning Lesmahagow team 29 years ago. This year he coached the club to the final – their first since 2008, ending a 15-year drought with a very commanding win over Strathearn.

The trophies were presented by Martin Hall, Senior Director at Davidson & Robertson, sponsors of the national finals competition at the Royal Highland Show since 2018. Martin Hall said “It is always a fantastic event, but this year the atmosphere was something else. Neither of last year’s winners took part, so there were always going to be new winners, and it was good to see clubs who have not been here for some time coming to the fore.

“Lesmahagow men’s team beat both previous winners Carluke and Biggar in their heat, but still had to prove their worth on the day.They really had the strength and determination to win and also had the loudest support from their district which really paid off.  Young Farmers is a generational organisation – something Lesmahagow demonstrated on the day with children from families who won decades ago, emulating their success again this year.”

The Callander YFC ladies’ team beat Strathbogie YFC in the final. Commenting on their win Martin said “As a club, Callander are regular finalists in both the men’s and ladies’ competitions and this year was no different, so it was great to see their men’s team providing so much encouragement in the final pulls.

“SAYFC is a fantastic movement for young people, and events like this show just how much support clubs and districts give each other. We are proud to sponsor this event which showcases just how much power and commitment it takes to compete at the highest level.

For more images and stories, follow us on Facebook DRRural or Instagram Davidson_and_Robertson

Lesmahagow YFC men’s winning team: Coaches Alan Haddow & David Armstrong. Team: Brothers Stuart, Craig and Drew Armstrong, Scott Bell, Andrew Legget, James Barr

Callander YFC Ladies’ winning team: Coach Dougie Willison, Team: Linsey Campbell, Jan Duncan, Claire Jennings, Anne McHarg, Heather Ralston, Kirsty Findlay


We occasionally send out industry news, information on local agricultural business opportunities and updates on our company. If you would like to receive these, please subscribe.