Cumbria Farmer Award presentation

Martin Hall presents Farmer Award


D&R sponsor Cumbria Farmer Awards and see the finest of Cumbria’s farming community gather in celebration

Around 220 farmers, industry professionals and local dignitaries, celebrated the winners of the inaugural Cumbria Farmer Awards 2021 at a farming focused celebration held at The Greenhill Hotel, near Wigton on Friday night (1st October).

The ceremony, which focused on farming in Cumbria, was also an opportunity to catch up with people and businesses in the farming community.

Davidson & Robertson sponsored the Supplier of the Year Award which had the following shortlist: Aspatria Farmers, Lely Centre Longtown and Carrs Billington
Representing D&R alongside D&R Senior Director Martin Hall were Sam Sykes, Joe Bell, and Nigel Harris. Martin presented the award to winners Aspatria Farmers.

Martin said “It was fantastic to be involved in the inaugural Cumbria Farmer Awards – on the front foot of farming in the county.Davidson & Robertson were delighted to sponsor the Best Supplier of the Year Award and were delighted to see the award won by Aspatria Farmers.

“Seeing the farming community to come together to celebrate the best of what Cumbria has to offer was great. Farming can feel isolated, so gathering for a good face to face catch up really created a buzz – something our team really enjoyed too. It was made even better with a room full of worthy businesses and people shortlisted for the awards.”

In all, there were 12 award categories covering all the key sectors in the industry. Entries came from right across farming’s core sectors.

The judges decided at a late stage to include two additional awards -a Special Award and a Farmers’ Choice Award.

Cumbrian artist and illustrator, Lynn Bates, designed a Herdwick Ram’s head which proudly sits on each of the glass trophies, and was also part of the Special Recognition Award, made by Honister Slate Mine at Keswick, and presented to HRH the Prince of Wales by the Cumbrian farming community.

The Awards were organised by Newsquest Cumbria in partnership with Carlisle-based accountants, financial and business advisers, Armstrong Watson.


  • Supplier of the year: Aspatria Farmers.
  • Against All Odds: Growing Well.
  • Agricultural Student/Rural Skills award: Emma Blamire.
  • Contractor of the year: A.J Rickerby Contracting.
  • Dairy farmer of the year: Tom Dent.
  • Diversification of the year: Dodgson Wood.
  • Farming champion: Will Cockbain.
  • Food retailer of the year: Low Sizergh Farm and Barn.
  • Land and environment award: Tim Winder.
  • Livestock farmer of the year: James Duerden.
  • Tenant farmer of the year: Dan Simpson & Ruby Cappleman.
  • Young Farmers’ Club of the year: Drigg YFC.
  • Lifetime achievement: Will Rawling.
  • Judges’ special awards: The Graham Family (Millerhill Farm), Sian Jordan, Pat Turnbull.
  • Farmers’ choice award: Julie Brough.
Montage from farmer awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


We occasionally send out industry news, information on local agricultural business opportunities and updates on our company. If you would like to receive these, please subscribe.